U2 Tours - U2 Dates, News & more       https://u2tours.com
U2 Tours (formerly part of AtU2): A Comprehensive Guide To U2’s Live Performance History
Quick Search:

U2 Concert:
May 14, 2015 at Vancouver

Tour: Innocence + Experience Tour 1st Leg (North America) 
Venue: Rogers Arena 
Location: VancouverCanada 

See more concerts in the Vancouver area. 

Attendance: 18,221  (Capacity: 18,221)

Releases Represented:

  1. Songs Of Innocence had 7 songs
  2. The Joshua Tree had 4 songs
  3. Achtung Baby had 3 songs
  4. How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb had 2 songs
  5. Boy had 2 songs
  6. Non-Album Singles had 2 songs
  7. All That You Can't Leave Behind had 1 songs
  8. The Unforgettable Fire had 1 songs
  9. War had 1 songs
  10. Rattle And Hum had 1 songs



U2 launches the Innocence + Experience tour in the same country where the 360 tour ended four years earlier.

The show begins with U2 playing the lead single from its latest album, followed by the lead single of the band's career. Two more up tempo songs follow and get the crowd on its feet.

Before "Iris," Bono talks at length about how U2 looked to its past for inspiration on Songs Of Innocence, and explains that the next song is about his mother, who died when he was 14.

The tour production takes center stage during "Cedarwood Road," with Bono singing from up inside the arena-length video screen, visible to the audience while animated scenes from his boyhood home (on Cedarwood Road) play on the screen around him -- a mesmerizing visual moment.

The show gets heavier as "Sunday Bloody Sunday" (played acoustically with each band member standing on the thin walkway between the main stage and b-stage) segues into "Raised By Wolves" with news clips and the sound of bomb blasts from the 1974 incident that inspired the latter song. "Until The End Of The World" closes out the first set with the ripped pages of classic books (The Bible, Dante's Inferno, Alice In Wonderland and others) falling from the arena ceiling, mimicking the real-life post-bombing scene on the streets of Dublin.

The band goes off-stage for a very brief intermission; it lasts about six minutes and archival interview footage from some of punk music's biggest names plays on the video screen. U2 plays the next two songs from inside the video screen, before all head out to the b-stage for the next four songs ("Mysterious Ways" through "Every Breaking Wave"). Bono brings a fan on stage during "Sweetest Thing" and -- in a very Zoo TV-esque move -- gives her a smartphone to use as a camera, with her video feed showing on the video screen as the band plays.

The lightness and fun of that segment ends as the band launches into an angry "Bullet The Blue Sky" that features entirely new lyrics and a video montage focused on economic injustice. The second set ends on a somber note with "The Troubles" (a pre-recorded Lykke Li singing with Bono on the video screen) and "With Or Without You."

The encore is another story altogether as the mood turns (mostly) joyous for the four final songs. Bono brings a young boy on stage during "Beautiful Day." He talks about (RED) and humanitarian aid in Africa before singing Paul Simon's "Mother And Child Reunion," which leads into "Streets."

The show ends with the band heading down the walkway and exiting via the b-stage, but The Edge falls off the stage before getting there. U2 posts a photo on social media after the concert showing some blood and cuts on Edge's arm, but the message tells fans that he's okay.

The show features no songs from No Line On The Horizon, and is the first time U2 doesn't play "One" since its release. The first few songs are broadcast on Q104.3 radio in the U.S. and Canada.


22 Photos:


We have 6 reviews and 22 photos from this show.

Fan Reviews Media Reviews
  1. Fan Review by SingleFlyer Camera
  2. Fan Review by deck Camera
  3. Fan Review by deck Camera
  4. Fan Review by Whitey
  5. Fan Review by Matt McGee Camera
  6. Fan Review by manxman